Rufus Wainwright – Out of the Game

I’ve never really known much about Rufus Wainwright as a person. He was always the sort of musician that I could listen to for days and know all his lyrics off by heart, yet never knowing what his nationality was/what he looked like/what his favourite colour was etc. And that, to me, is the best kind of musician (yes, I said it. I don’t care who Justin Bieber is dating, or what he thinks about the US presidential nominations race. He probably doesn’t think much anyway). The name never really had much of an effect on me either. Two of my most played soundtrack songs on iTunes are his duet with Dido, I Eat Dinner (When the Hunger’s Gone), from Bridget Jones’ Diary 2, and his cover of Hallelujah from the Shrek soundtrack (don’t question my choice of soundtracks; the music in those two films is amazing). In fact, for a long time the latter had the ability to make me cry every single time I heard it (and being the masochist that I am, I just kept on replaying it). I have since developed an immunity and am looking for other incredibly heartfelt songs to torture myself with (suggestions welcome).

So imagine my surprise when I turned on the Graham Norton show a couple of weeks ago for a light-weight distraction (much like the British economy, my revision is also ‘double-dipping at the moment. Ha ha), and saw Rufus Wainwright performing his new song “Out of the Game“. It’s a strangely entrancing tune, with a quirky arrangement and husky vocals – what’s not to love? It’s also perfect music to listen to when you’re –

a) revising like a boss, or

b) travelling in the pouring rain (either by car or foot).

Both of these scenarios were tested today by yours truly; thanks Mother Nature, you bitch.

Oh, and Helena Bonham Carter is a librarian with a mattress fetish in his video. That is all.


Rufus Wainwright’s new album, “Out of the Game” is out now.

Say something

